Money well spent (hopefully)…

It was a spur of the moment impulse that led to the departure of fifty-something pounds, well it would have been more but I was told not to be so garish (basically). It’s rather surprising, seeing as I have not purchased a physical item, or the rights to something. I have bought words, words that are yet to be spoken and yet to be heard. Hopefully these words will be enlightening, or at the very least give me something to think about – after all, I’ll be spending a week listening to them.

The highly acclaimed ‘Hay Festival’ is just around the corner, and I’ve swiped a few tickets to a handful of the seminars and talks. Nothing says nerdy like getting excited about talks on politics and philosophy (to name a few of the topics), although if I must be honest I was rather hoping that I could just ‘drop in’ and listen for free. You shouldn’t have to put a price on education, or food for thought – but the festival has to get its money somehow.

It’s supposedly one of the biggest cultural festivals in the world, one that tours around the world and stops for a week in Hay-on-wye: It’s sponsors include Barclay’s, Sky and even Google (the list is surprisingly long), and people from all over the world fly in for the intellectual buzz. It should be an interesting experience; admittedly this will be my first time really mixing with the festival as I’m usually manning a marquee or observing numerous antiques exchange eccentric hands.

The likes of Terry Pratchett, Steven Fry and Tim Minchin will be stealing the show, along with an ensemble of art-house (pretentious) musicians and an array of heavy hitters hailing from top Universities such as Cambridge. It’s definitely going to be a good one this year, and with something to go to every day there will plenty to do. So on the first of June I’ll be grabbing my rucksack full of clothes, laptop and camera, and checking out the festival.

I’ll be posting photos, videos and more across the week as I get stuck in. Perhaps I’m doing it for my own enjoyment, but there might be something you find intriguing. It’s an all you-can-eat buffet for the brain, and I’ll be bringing you the warmed-up leftovers daily.

Yummy 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About CVCLNE

Recently graduated from Coventry University BaHons First-Class Media & Communications Complete with a year of studies overseas (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden) Experienced content creator, videography, photography & graphics. For more information contact cyclonerepublic@gmail.com Ask for a digital copy of my portfolio!

2 responses to “Money well spent (hopefully)…”

  1. Rieu Harold says :

    Thanks for another informative website. The place else could I am getting that kind of information written in such an ideal method? I’ve a mission that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

  2. Nina says :

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog – Project Bike: Kestrel 4000 Bike Fit, prt 2 | TriDeano before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

