Perhaps I should explain the previous title…

So, for those of you who actually read my last post you may be wondering what the title was all about. Well I’m assuming you are, but knowing you, you probably didn’t read it or don’t care. That’s just fine, but I’ll explain anyway.

Like I said, it’s been a hell of a week (in a good and bad way) so don’t be surprised to see a lot of stuff about it.

I posted our ‘Peeping Tom’ video in the last post, but that is only a slice of what was going on this week. Long hours, irregular eating patterns and immense stress at times. But on the flip side of that there was valuable experience and lessons learned, time well spent with my group of hard-working buddies and some rather good finished products (that we are proud of).

I’m exhausted, but I’m happy. I’m proud to be working with such bright people,  and although we get tested at times we seem to always pull through. I’m acutely aware that I have taken to the leadership role for much of this year in the group work; I never barged my way in and bossed people around, I just ended up getting looked to for guidance. The same goes for the group presentations and anything that requires open discussion, articulation and addressing the rest of the class. Don’t worry – it hasn’t gone to my head, but it has given me more confidence. I found my feet, and that came in handy this week.

Most of my time was spent putting together a story and directing/editing/starring in our silent film, which I am very excited to show to the rest of the class on the 15th. It’s not the best looking thing in the world, but considering it wasn’t allowed any sound, and was restricted to certain criteria I feel very happy with the result; I put a lot of work into it, so it’s something of a mini pet project.

There we were slaving away, running up and down Coventry to shoot the scenes and get the props. Quite hectic! Directing a silent film is not easy, I really had to think about every shot, and more importantly how I would edit it together. Every step I made I had to think about the next two after it, whilst keeping everyone focussed and visually fitting the pieces (shots) together in my head. That and sticking to a schedule and worrying about everything else took its toll occasionally, but such is life. Admittedly I was on the edge a little in post production, but once the footage was securely imported and the software behaved a little better I got editing, and finished it all!

The short film is called ‘The Sarin Conspiracy’, but I won’t say anything about the plot. I wrote a whole back-story for it, even forged documents and threw some complication into the mix; I would have liked to have more time and more freedom to make it my own, but we stuck to the brief. I wonder if people will understand what is going on without sound, it was a huge factor in the production – we asked ourselves “How does one convey a story with such a handicap?” and more specifically “How can I make this setback an advantage?”

Turns out all it needed was a good story behind the whole thing, and a bit of commitment (it shines through whatever you do). Like I said no video yet, but here are the outtakes! Why let the funny stuff go to waste right?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About CVCLNE

Recently graduated from Coventry University BaHons First-Class Media & Communications Complete with a year of studies overseas (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden) Experienced content creator, videography, photography & graphics. For more information contact cyclonerepublic@gmail.com Ask for a digital copy of my portfolio!

3 responses to “Perhaps I should explain the previous title…”

  1. click says :

    Dude! This blog site is amazing. How can I make it look this good ?

  2. Marion Moonsommy says :

    I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to weblog and seriously enjoyed your website. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with impressive articles and reviews. Thanks for sharing with us your web page.

  3. Mauricio Pletz says :

    I just want to say I’m newbie to weblog and definitely enjoyed your blog. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You really have tremendous stories. Appreciate it for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

