Still here!

Regrettably  there has still been a lack of activity on my university blog, but I have not been idle. My new spaces which are dedicated to news coverage and generalised posts have had me occupied, whilst the ever-present course demands have been breathing down my neck. As I said previously this blog is set to become a more dedicated space, where I discuss experience and personal development alongside course reflections and anything else related to ‘CCM’. Whilst I remain busy trying to get everything off the ground it may all seem a bit monotonous, but fear not! Things are going to get interesting very soon.

In the meantime I thought I would look back at the two previous weeks in retrospect; the 183 module is now in full swing and with it comes the demands of practical productive work.

It’s a little bit different from the regular seminars on theory and analysis, because we have been put in the driver’s seat and left to our own devices. As my lecturer put it so delicately “with such creative license comes the risk of your work being crap” and he’s totally right. This really is a tricky module because there is absolutely no line of best fit, no average to weigh up against. It’s awfully daunting when I think about it, especially with the nature of the assignment timings. Already we have found ourselves working on two productions at the same time, and if we don’t get them done it will only get busier.

The first is radio production; as I mentioned previously we have been tasked with creating an advertisement for an imaginary product. I think we have something now, but it took a lot of trial and error and even more time-wasting.

As for the other task, we have to create a three-minute video representation of a poem. This is a very interesting task, as we could really create something different, or bring out a new way to look at the meaning of a poem. I’m pretty sure that’s what was being hinted at us during the lecture last week anyway.

For some reasons I could not stop thinking about Tool’s music videos when we were being educated on the three main types of video representation; there was talk about literal videos and then the more experimental forms. Music videos (or in fact any video) that do not literally show us the direct meaning (or the text in practice) will most likely bring out a theme or a feeling and enhance it to project the text on a different level, or they will go totally abstract to create disorientation or shock (which is what Tool music videos do all the time!).

If you haven’t heard or seen a tool video then I suggest you watch this one. It’s one of the more ‘straightforward’ music videos (as well as vicarious), they still don’t make an awful lot of sense though.

I suppose that’s what we need to do with our three-minute video versions of poems. We  have chosen Emily Dickinson’s ‘I could not stop for death’, so I was thinking about bringing in a modern context or ‘paradigm’ and applying it to the overall text or ‘syntagm’. I shan’t say anymore about it though, wouldn’t want to ruin the surprise!

More regular (and interesting) posts on the way soon enough, but in the meantime keep an eye on my two new wordpresses, NoobyNews and NoobyTendencies!

That’s all for now!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About CVCLNE

Recently graduated from Coventry University BaHons First-Class Media & Communications Complete with a year of studies overseas (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden) Experienced content creator, videography, photography & graphics. For more information contact cyclonerepublic@gmail.com Ask for a digital copy of my portfolio!

One response to “Still here!”

  1. Coenzyme Q10 says :

    Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and come with almost all significant infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

