The perils of ‘going retro’.

Let me tell you now, it’s not easy-going retro. It’s not easy trying to obtain the obsolete, the outdated or the nostalgic. We all learn this the hard way at some point and for me it was a hard lesson, an expensive one.

If you could be so kind as to glance back to the golden age of the early naughties, when technology was bulky and expensive, and music was a lot less cooler. Remember all the wonderful things the naughties gave us? Like childhood for example.

It was cool to have the smallest flip camera phones and iPod Nanos. For a while everyone was obsessed with making technology smaller, even before we had fully mastered it. As a result a standard (nowadays) MP3 player for example would cost several hundred pounds, like the first generation Sony Walkman NW-A3000.

I think we all look back at the naughties tech and snigger, they were 'in your face' and cumbersome. They really did try to run before they could walk, and the results are cringe-worthy by today's standards.

Don’t remember it? Well it was big, bulky, made a whirring noise and it cost over two hundred pounds. Mind you, it was reliable, durable and sounded great, I’m sure I read a review somewhere that actually said it was “As crisp as a bag of walkers.” And with twenty gigabytes of space it’s a good middle ground between those plastic flash drive gadgets and high storage monsters of today.  I remember years ago my mum had one as a present once; the software was in no way user-friendly, and the player itself was quite weighty, but I absolutely loved it! Even for its time it was deemed obsolete and stupid, hopelessly outclassed by the iPod, and unable to keep up with the waves of new multimedia players that were flooding the market. Almost a decade since it’s release, and it’s all but extinct. It’s an antique, a symbol of our overzealous tech generation, it’s retro.

Wait, does that make it cool? Since everyone is all about the ‘old school’ all of a sudden (well at least at uni anyway)? For me it wasn’t about being cool, it was about getting back a long-lost love. I found it on eBay, overpriced as always. And I took it, I didn’t want to wait for disappointing auctions, so I grabbed the first bundle I could find. The excitement was almost unbearable, I was ecstatic to be re-united with a former gem of my past. However when it arrived in its dodgy eBay packaging I was shattered, for there was no sync cable, nor was their any software. Needless to say I gave the seller a bad review, after I was assured the bundle had ‘everything’ it was the least I could do. I don’t know if I can be bothered to sell it, or buy anything else (other than the overpriced sync cable). Christmas came early, and then it laughed and turned away. I am stuck with something I loved, and I’m wondering if it was worth it. I can’t tell you how terrible that feels.

Fortunately there is a sync cable and software back home, but it really isn’t the point. eBay has robbed me of my satisfaction, for now…

Tags: , , , , ,

About CVCLNE

Recently graduated from Coventry University BaHons First-Class Media & Communications Complete with a year of studies overseas (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden) Experienced content creator, videography, photography & graphics. For more information contact cyclonerepublic@gmail.com Ask for a digital copy of my portfolio!

2 responses to “The perils of ‘going retro’.”

  1. mandy says :

    son, ive got mine here, why didnt you say you could have had it !!! xx

  2. manny1212 says :

    This is such a soul-crushing story ):

Leave a Reply

