A 72 hour challenge, and my first experience of ‘Coventry Conversations’

It has been a long and tiresome week, the work load has been pretty heavy but I have survived nevertheless.

My group and I have just completed the 72 hour challenge, we were tasked with creating a music video for a ‘Ghost Poet’ song (who was a previous student at Coventry five years ago) which proved to be a test of our teamwork and communication skills more than anything. Fortunately the group was able to bring forward useful skills from each person (such as acting, editing and camera work) and the task was executed efficiently. Any way here is a link to the video.

The other interesting experience today was the ‘Coventry Conversation’ on journalism. It has left me with a lot to think about. The speaker Paul Bradshaw emphasised the importance of interaction with the community, and how validating information can prove to be much more successful than the most elaborate piece of writing (when there will be other journalists doing the same thing in a saturated field).

I was inspired by his ethos towards journalists of today, he said that a good journalist does not rely on a organisational force to support them, nor a bountiful supply of resources/additional assets.  If the individual can interact with the community as opposed to ‘provide for a consumer’ (the traditional approach which is still at large in many cases) then one can gain recognition (all we need is the new media or internet and we already have an array of channels of communication.)

Being able to make validations and pick through the mass of user generated data/information is something both governments and companies are incapable of, so those journalists who are efficient at this can find a job very easily.

A lot of food for thought here, a lot of ideas I never thought about before. These CC’s are definitely worth the time. I think I may start being more pro-active in user journalism as well as going to more CC’s. But before I can start writing more articles I have a CUEAFS feature to finish.

Much Love x

Tags: , , , , , ,

About CVCLNE

Recently graduated from Coventry University BaHons First-Class Media & Communications Complete with a year of studies overseas (Karlstads Universitet, Sweden) Experienced content creator, videography, photography & graphics. For more information contact cyclonerepublic@gmail.com Ask for a digital copy of my portfolio!

5 responses to “A 72 hour challenge, and my first experience of ‘Coventry Conversations’”

  1. Florencio Sampica says :

    Some genuinely wonderful articles on this internet site , thanks for contribution.

  2. Louis Vuitton Monogram Canvas Luco Brown M51155 Outlet says :

    Hello. fantastic job. I did not expect this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  3. Monster - Beats by Dr Dre Studio - Nike Kryptonate Limited Edition Headphones says :

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Louis Vuitton Damier Geant Canvas Cougar Caramel M93031 Canada says :

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. Claretha Mensik says :

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the problem is one thing that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing relating to this.

Leave a Reply

